Marcel Kittel won by just inches from Mark Cavendish in the sprint finish at the final stage of Britain tour and Dylan van Baarle won the race title. Van Baarle accepted the yellow jersey of the leader on the seventh stage held on Saturday and kept his lead in the time trial held on Saturday which was won by Sir Bradley Wiggins. The Dutch rider finished the race first at the final stage with a win by 10 seconds.

Cavendish was happy after spending a very difficult year. Michal Kwiatkowski finished at the second place overall and Wiggins came third. The winner of Tour de France of 2012 finished 12 seconds after but moved up from the seventh position after the time trial that was held on Sunday’s first stage at central London.

The final stage witnessed an early breakaway that was formed by the five men over the 10 laps of the circuit that has a length of 8.8km which was earlier used for the time trial. The teams fought for their position of reaching the finish line first and were caught when there was only 5.5km left. This happened to pit Kittel against Cavendish at Whitehall and just when it started to seem that Manxman was way ahead of the line, the German came up to cross him and reach the finish line first. This put another win into the basket of the British standing on Irish grounds in 2014. This will mean that he has added to his achievements Girod’Italia stages held in Belfast and Dublin, Tour de France stages held in Harrogate and London and the Tour of Britain.

Cavendish said that finishing the tour in the middle of London has been a great experience and that he would have been happier if he could win the afternoon race just like Bradley won in the morning.

Written by